NYFW Re-Cap: Derek Lam

by mayashaw

Derek Lam did Derek Lam this season…if that shocks you. He did the minimalistic, urban chic, I’m rich but I live in this urban area because I like excitement, brown loving girl that he always does. That’s not a bad thing because sometimes it’s good to have designers that do something constantly and do it well!(*cough* Betsey Johnson, Karl, Dolce and Gabbana *cough*) I enjoyed this collection for a number of reasons that I will now specify:

1. Darks in the spring and summer? YES.

2. Cobalt blue is still kicking around FUCK YES.

And 3. Leather in the summer?! WORD UP!

This collection brings leather, brocade and high neckline tank tops all together in one happy place and makes it all look effortless and cool. I mean what other designer could do that? 4 for you Derek Lam, you go Derek Lam.

